Why pawn shops are better than buying lottery tickets!

In addition to the rare (and underpriced) gem of a gun you occasionally find at the local pawn/loan/jewelry/check-cashing/discount tobacco/whatever store, always be on the lookout for stuff like this…….

caseknives.JPG

I hit one of my usual haunts on the way home this evening as they were sticking price tags on a bunch of old knives. I took a quick gander and came up with these two. I knew they were worth at least the $24.95 on the sticker and, since my 5 year old sons' name is Case, had to put them away for him if nothing else. Negotiating the price down to $20/each made the deal even sweeter!

A little Ebay research turns up this is about $175 worth of knives. That would be a quick 300-400% profit at auction. I think I'll keep them though, and go back tomorrow to look at the rest of the box!

6 Responses to “Why pawn shops are better than buying lottery tickets!”

  1. Well, 4 years ago I asked a pawn guy to let me see a K frame Smith. He handed it to me and said nobody wants a 9mm revolver and as he had had it for 5 years he could let me but it for $200 out the door. Yep, a 547 3 inch, AsNew.

    The Lord is good ! ….dewey

  2. WOW! I have run onto some good ones, but that is an awesome deal. Email me a pic and I’ll start a pawn shop Hall of Fame….lol!

  3. Case knives are excellent. I’ve got a couple that I’ve had for years and they’ve never done me wrong. Good buy.

  4. Jack

    Thanks, this is good stuff. You are spot on.

  5. I really really really want to start a pawn shop in our town but I first have to sell the ideal to my boyfriend. You see he really, reallly loves playing the lotto. Does anyone know,if I dont want to take in guns but I could do knifes, do I still need a firearms license? Anyway please help me convince him and give me some sort of reason besides knives. Our town is really growing fast and there has never been a pawn shop. People have to drive 45 minutes to the nearest one and man I love shopping at these places. What great deals!

    • No license needed for knives, although check your local laws as some types of knives may be restricted. Specifically auto or spring action knives.
      Also, I think you would be severely limiting your new pawn venture if you didn’t get an FFL license. The ones here that don’t seem to get a lot less traffic and mainly survive off of video games and cheap jewelry.

Leave a comment